Don’t Miss the Volunteer Fair, Feb. 12! Local NGOs Recruiting on Campus

TVslideGlobalE_Feb12_2015 copyWant to make a difference in the world but aren’t sure where to start? Want to encourage your students to get more involved, or have a friend or family member who’s been talking about looking for volunteer opportunities? Kristen Dailey, Executive Director of Global Washington, will give a talk at 11:30 a.m. Thursday, Feb. 12 in the PUB Quiet Dining Room (9208) about the role of NGOs (Non-Governmental Organizations) in providing humanitarian and development assistance support around the world.

After Dailey’s talk, representatives of 12 Seattle-based NGOs will join her in a Volunteer Fair designed to connect students, staff and community members with exciting local volunteer opportunities. This is your chance to speak directly with leaders from a range of NGOs and learn what organization and volunteer opportunity might be a fit for you. The NGOs represented at the fair are:

Oxfam Action Corps http://www.oxfamamerica.org
One By One   http://www.fightfistula.org/
The World Affairs Council https://www.world-affairs.org/
RESULTS Seattle   http://www.results.org/
Mona Foundation https://www.monafoundation.org/
World Concern (Shoreline) http://worldconcern.org/
Act for Congo  http://www.actforcongo.org/
Schools for Salone http://schoolsforsalone.org/
Project Ethiopia (Shoreline) http://projectethiopia.com/
BuildOn http://www.buildon.org/
Bainbridge Ometepe Sister Island Association (BOSIA) http://bainbridgeometepe.org/
Peace Corps (Seattle Office) http://peacecorps.gov

Join us in the PUB, room 9208 for:
Kristen Dailey’s talk from 11:30-12:30
Attend the Volunteer Fair with 12 locally-based NGOs from 12:30-2:30

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: